I was born and raised in Saint-Denis, France, but over the past 10 years, I lived in Paris, London, Louvain-la-Neuve, Leeds, York and Florence, before ending up in the Bay of San Francisco – which I currently call home.

I am an Assistant Professor in the Philosophy Department of Stanford University, with an affiliation to the McCoy Center for Ethics in Society. Before coming to Stanford, I completed my PhD in Political Philosophy within the School of Politics, Economics and Philosophy at the University of York (UK), and was then a 2014-2015 Max Weber Postdoctoral Fellow at the thumb_hipstamaticphoto-497667821-882609_1024
European University Institute (Italy).

My interests lie at the intersection of Philosophy and Public Policy. I write on social justice in general, and in particular, on social egalitarianism, inequalities between age groups, and what it means to treat young people as equals.

My Book project investigates intergenerational inequalities and asks what governments owe to their young adult members. Inequalities between generations crystallize political and economic tensions. I provide a critical framework that serves to distinguish between acceptable and objectionable inequalities. I engage with the normative aspects of youth disadvantage and evaluate suitable policies to alleviate youth unemployment, poverty and exclusion. In particular, I write on the policy proposals of the youth job guarantee, unconditional basic income,  basic capital and the introduction of quotas in parliaments.

At Stanford, I am currently Faculty Director of a new initiative called the Basic Income Lab. There is an increasing need for in-depth academic research on how to design a universal basic income and how to evaluate its implementation – assessing the visions that underpin unconditional cash, the political and economic feasibility of various proposals, as well as its strengths and weaknesses as a measure to alleviate poverty, precariousness and inequalities. Our new initiative serves to stimulate research on UBI, to advise those developing UBI policies and carrying out UBI experiments, to aggregate and disseminate research findings, and to convene scholars, policy makers, and leaders in business, think tanks, nonprofits, and foundations around the politics of UBI.

